An increasing number of people choose to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is positive or negative development?

A majority of individuals prefer to enhance their outlook by undergoing through several cosmetic surgeries. While it really depends on the situations leading people to this decision, the root causes lie in the lack of confidence and the purpose of medical treatment. In my opinionhaving cosmetic operations is a positive trend.

Rationally, when people hear of someone going through cosmetic surgery, the first thing they will think of is due to individual insecurity. Many people just do not have confidence in their natural appearance, either due to lack of self- worth or hearing others criticize them. A Case in point is Korea, a country with the highest rate of cosmetic surgeries since their country puts a lot of pressure on beauty, people with disadvantageous appearance may struggle with discrimination.The other reason is for medical treatment. Some people are just unlucky compared to their peers and suffer deformities resulting from accidents or natural birth. Individuals like severely burned patients, acid attack victims or agent Orange survivor offsprings can have undesirable appearances in a society that puts more emphasis on outside looks. Therefore, the help of cosmetic surgeries can greatly improve those poeple’s daily life when interacting with others.

Overall, this is a positive development as more opportunities are given to underprivileged people. Individuals with more self-confidence have greater chances of success in both their relationships and career paths. For example, when applying for jobs, attractive interviewees can have a better impression which increase the chance of getting hired. Having a more pleasing look means more opportunities to find a partner as everyone loves a good looking person with good manners.

In conclusion, lack of confidence and medical purposes are the main reason why people look for cosmetic operations. This trend has open new doors towards job opportunities and relationships for the disabled and the unfortunate, which prove its positiveness for the community as a whole.