An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

More and more schools give electronic devices such as tablets and laptops for their students in order to substitute traditional study materials. This essay discusses both advantages and disadvantages for the use of tables and laptops in school.

With more revelations on science and other subjects in school, more knowledge needs to be given out to students. For example, in Biology, students need to study the pathology of a human. With the help of laptops and tablets, today's students able to learn faster compared to older days' students. This is possible because of scientists and programmers able to create interactive visuals that allow students to see what is inside a human body rather than a long descriptive text attached with some sketches. Moreover, these gadgets allow students to learn and even take exams and assignments from anywhere because of its portability. Ultimately, laptops and tables may provide students in remote areas with the same accessibility as students in developed areas.

The potential advantages of laptops and tablets are also coming with some disadvantages. For example, students may not really use these instruments for their intended purposes. Instead, they may use these to play video games or see irrelevant school materials. Furthermore, the excessive use of electronic devices may bring harm to students' health. For that, it is necessary to develop a system where the school only limit the functions of its computers and tablets so schools can monitor and control the usage of students' devices.

In conclusion, the policy to replace printed materials with tablets and computers can bring benefits and drawbacks. Provide these gadgets in a limited function may give students the potential to grasp more knowledge without major damage to students.