An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The advancement of technology has made a huge impact on humans lives, ranging from work to personal leisure. Admittedly, the education industry starts to use computers and tablets in their form of teaching, changing the traditional pattern of old-style book teaching. This causes an impact on student learning experience and the technology industry. Obviously, there will be advantages and disadvantages in this form of new teaching. Personally, I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and I agree with this form of teaching.

Nowadays, climate change has been a crisis that the world is facing and humans are desperately finding a variety of methods and solution to solve this challenge. The usage of tablets and laptop computers in schools will be able to reduce this problem as fewer trees are cut down to produce papers and books. One of the main reasons for deforestation is due to the production of papers. Using technology will be able to reduce climate change. Besides that, technology is able to provide different forms of learning experience for the students. Technology is able to satisfy the needs of every student. For instance, some students are visual learners and they learn best by watching videos. There are millions of resources on the Internet that will be able to fit each student's preferable learning style.

However, the students might misuse the technology and use them to cheat on exams. This might create an unfair situation for both students and teachers. The teacher will not be able to test the ability of the student if they use this platform to cheat. Moreover, using tablets and laptop computers in school might be a great distraction for the students. During lessons, the students might get distracted and divert their attention to other functions of the computer such as games, YouTube videos and others.

In conclusion, I think using technology such as tablets and laptop computers is the new platform for teaching and this will be able to help individual students to get the best learning experience that they could get in school. Technology will be able to lessen the burden of the teachers. As long as the students do not misuse technology, this increasing trend of using technology in school will be able to benefit both teachers and students.