Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

In our modern life, traffic and pollution have been becoming a global issue that must be taken into consideration and a group of people believes that the optimal solution is rising petrol costs. From my point of view, I partly agree with this idea but I think there are more effective ways to deal with those problems.

Increasing the price of gasoline is one of several solutions to decline the number of vehicles and exhausted gas but it is not the best way. As we can see in the first period, people will tend to decrease the frequency of using their car or motorbike and take communal transportation instead, or even dislike going far away. However, the consequences of this rule are obviously anticipated, which affect the economy and result in social problems. The number of sold vehicles has dropped while a large amount of gasoline is in stock, which may lead to the bankruptcy of many companies as well as the average income of workers in this area will be lower down. Moreover, where a cutting point of the rise is and in some cases, the demand of using individual cars is necessary, expenditure of petrol is overpaid.

There are more useful measures to encounter with growing traffic and pollution than we thought, which need the contribution of both civilians and government. The government should encourage people to use public transportation such as bus, train, subway instead of cars or limousines and hold a campaign walking or cycling to work, which benefits for the health and also be more eco-friendly. Besides, studies about electrical vehicles and renewable resources including solar, wind, tidal and nuclear power must be taken into account to replace fossil fuel energy, giving back our green planet.

In conclusion, although there are some positive effects of increasing petrol payment, the negative ones are outweighed, so that to reduce the traffic and gas emission problems, public transportation plays an important role paralleled with finding renewable energy.