Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

In order to curb the increasing menace of traffic and pollution, raising petrol prices is suggested to be the most effective method. However, I disagree, and believe that there are other measures that can yield better results.

A rise in petrol prices can definitely deter people from using their own cars for daily commute, as it can increase financial burden. As a result, fewer cars will ply on the road, thus reducing traffic and pollution. However, this will also have negative consequences by affecting other transport modes in many ways. Firstly, a hike in fuel cost will cause a concurrent increase in ticket prices of public transports as well, such as buses, taxis, etc. Secondly, transport vehicles that are used to transport essential commodities such as, vegetables, fruits, etc., will also have to pay a higher price for their journey. This may lead to inflation in costs of essential commodities and further increase the economic burden on people. Thus, this solution may solve traffic and pollution problem, but it will also give rise to other problems in turn.

However, there are other methods that can be implemented to reduce these problems. First one being, government can implement certain campaigns or programs that encourage people to reduce individual car usage. For example, increasing awareness about car-pooling or restricting numbers of cars by allowing only certain number of cars to run on roads on daily basis. Further, government also need to invest more money into development of public transport and infrastructure, so that more and more people are encouraged to use these facilities.

In conclusion, traffic and pollution are major problems plaguing today's urban cities. However, increasing petrol prices will not help solve it and other effective measures such as car sharing, improvement in public transport facilities can help decrease these problems.