Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no suspicious that traffic jam and pollution from vehicles have become popular problems. Some people say that solving these problems is to need to raise the price of petrol. I completely disagree with this idea, it is just a simple solution and we need more strict solutions to address these problems.

First of all, if petrol prices are increased, this will likely lead to less petrol being used and this can make the environment cleaner. However, it will also raise the cost of anything that uses petrol in its production or in transport such as produce television, fridge or air condition... Thus, this can lead to slower economic growth as less is bought and produced. I know there will be less traffic jam and less pollution as well. Nevertheless, I do not think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

On the other hand, traffic problems can be dealt with by making drivers pay more to use certain roads in certain times. Besides, we can improve the choice of public transport services. For example, underground train systems were built in Japan or Korea... This has been very effective in those countries and then traffic on the roads would be dramatically reduced.

While pollution could also be reduced by encouraging people to use energy more effectively and cleaner fuels need to be developed. In the modern world, technology is already available to produce electric cars that would be both quieter and leaner to use, Moreover, the government could mention consequences that vehicles affected the environment.

In conclusion, I believe that solving these problems is need more than a simple rise in the price of petrol. Therefore, I think there are many better alternative solutions available.