increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Traffic congestion and pollution problems are becoming the real issues that affect people’s daily life especially in the cities. Some suggested that the optimum way of solving these problems is to simply rise the price of petrol. In my opinion, more measures will be required to effectively control the related issues, rather than the said hike price of petrol. Reasons as well relevant examples will be discussed in this essay.

One of the major causes of the traffic and pollution issues is no doubt as the increasing number of the private vehicles. In recent years, the number private vehicle dramatically increases while the road infrastructures such as highways and roads are maintaining a relatively unchanged status. This can easily lead to the traffic congestion and pollution in the population dense areas. Rise in petrol price can minimize the number of vehicles on the road in some ways.

However, reasons lead to traffic and pollution issues are more complicated than just the increase number of private vehicles. Lack of affordable public transportation, poor urban planning and choices of vehicles can all lead to a relief to traffic and pollution. Therefore, multiple measures toward each cause can be applied. For instance, building cheaper, more convenient and faster public transportation with bigger coverage such as subways, monorails and buses. Spreading out one huge major city into several satellite cities is important to release traffic and pollution pressure. It is a best way to encourage people to purchase fuel-economy or electric cars.

In conclusion, growing traffic and pollution problems can only be control in some extend by rising fuel prices, but to further reduce or solve the problems, more measures are required. This includes but not limited to build cheaper, faster and more covered public transport, improvement of urban planning and encourage the purchases of new energy cars.