Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of the modern society Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in

In today's competitive world it has become essential for individual to give themselves priority instead of focusing on other issues. However, this contemporary approach has made people selfish and developed an urge of dominating. Some people opine that it is good for us to follow our traditional values of respecting family and community for creation of a better world. This essay will discuss both the views.

Overall, people need to ensure their survival in this rapid developing world irrespective of moral values because what matters the most is to become successful nowadays. Individual have realized without greed there's no success because if a person is satisfied with what he has achieved he would stop taking efforts further. In addition, due to increase in competitions in corporate as well as educational world it has become vital for people to prove their worth timely. Consequently, Individuals develop a sense of greed in order to either secure promotion or top in the class. Also because of such competitions, people tend to become selfish by either using other persons for their achievement or stealing their ideas and work.

However, inheritance of traditional values such as respect might help reduce the selfishness because being selfish creates hatred amongst people. But if we start admiring people and help them in their work it would create a more sustainable environment. Also some people tend to become dominant as they begin to earn hefty and take responsibility of their family. Nevertheless, this dominance doesn't persist until workplace and individual starts dominating even family members and sometimes even disrespects them. But if the individual keeps his ego aside and respects his family and spends sometime with them it would make him/her feel comfortable and the bonding would strengthen even more. For example, if a person working as a manager respects his subordinates as well as family he would have a pleasant time working with his colleagues and even get some relief of the work stress.

In conclusion, though individual greed and selfishness are prevailing over the years and setting a base for modern society, it is essential for people to follow certain older approaches of sustaining to keep a healthy bond with family and community.