Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

It is no longer strange to see people working from home or anywhere outside their office, thanks to the advance of information technology. Personally, when it comes to mobility, this trend brings about more pros than cons

On the one hand, without the need of going to work, gradually people will be drifted apart along with the disruption of office buildings. It is true that with access to the Internet, people could fulfill their obligations without the assistance of anyone else, thus, impairing the relationship between colleagues. Moreover, as people’s demands for workplace progressively decrease, those buildings erected for work-related purposes would be put to an end sooner or later

On the other hand, it is undoubtedly being able to work everywhere is of paramount advantage. Specifically, if people do not have to leave their house for work, they will not need to use any transportation or get dressed, hence saving not only more money but time. Also, people can seize more opportunities when not being required to attend in many places for interviews, as well as tremendous convenience and comfort can be gained when there are not any eyes around them. For instance, in this pandemic, many people are unable to go to their office because of the lockdown, fortunately, they can still earn money through working online

To conclude, it is fascinating to see how developed our technology these days get that can allow workers to work beyond their workplace boundaries. Although both positivity and negativity can be found in this phenomenon, I strongly believe that its bright side can out shadow its drawbacks because of the countless opportunities and convenience it has