International tourism is now the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it brings rather tension than understanding between the people from cultures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Currently, with the globalised world and the general decrease in traveling cost, international tourism is becoming more and more prevalent. Some people argue that the continuous and steady growth of transnational traveling inevitably leads to tension and conflicts at times that are difficult to resolve. I partly agree with this view.

To begin with, it is clearly seen that global traveling creates pressure between people from distinct distances. First and foremost, among the forces contributing to the tension behind these cross – cultural encounters, those of languages barriers are perhaps the most prominent. For example, that international travelers do not have good command of the language spoken in destinations may have trouble on understanding or expressing their feelings or ideas. Communication with foreigners has always been difficult and can lead to misunderstandings or conflicts even with the help of a tour guide or interpreter. Furthermore, differences in customs and traditions may also produce quite a lot of unpleasantness during a journey. Travelers can find it very hard to adapt to the customs or cultures of the countries they visit or can have some behaviors which are not suitable with the locals, which can impact or even bother the residents.

Nevertheless, the effects from transnational tourism are not all negatives. They can educate the local people about the life in another part of the world. These international travelers are like the ambassadors for their countries. Both tourists’ and locals’ perspectives of cultural distinctiveness from all over the world can be significantly broadened. It is fair to say that the development can open up more opportunities for people from all over the world to establish relationships with local inhabitants.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that much as cross-border travel can cause tension, its influences are also the good ones.