It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Many students routinely prefer to take a leap after finishing school. Although students end up losing a whole year, it has proven to be beneficial in the longer run. In my opinion, students will be benefitted more if they take a break, despite its downside.

The greatest advantage of taking a year off is that students will have enough time to relax, rejuvenate and prepare for the entrance exams which would have been otherwise impossible if they would have had immediately started off with the further study. For instance, studies have shown that students scored higher and achieved their target scores as compared to those who didn't. They were less stressful and anxious as compared to others because they had a longer time to study as well as enough time to relax.

Just like every rose has a thorn. this advantage too comes at the expense of losing a precious year of youth with no academic progress. Moreover, the student may then feel uncomfortable and have difficulty adjusting as the other students would be younger than him. For instance, my friend who took a leap twice felt isolated and left out. He found it difficult to connect with the students. Because of this, he felt like a fish out of water and had to be counselled. He took a while restoring himself academically.

To sum up, taking a year off has been tremendously common and popular. Although, the student faces difficulties it seems to provide huge benefits in the longer run. In my belief, losing a year and joining university a year later do not hold much significance as compared to the merits gained.