It is becoming increasingly popular for people to travel to tourist destinations during public holidays. What problems does this cause? What solutions are there to these problems?

It is not uncommon to find an increasing number of people spend their holidays in another city or country. I believe such phenomenon could give rise to serious environmental problems and and solutions including imposing tax and promoting awareness could be used to tackle these problems.

The main concern for the popularity of holiday travels would be environmental pollutions. On one hand, transports tourists taking to reach their destinations, including airplanes, private cars and railways, all rely on the burning of fossil fuel which would emit carbon dioxide and other polluted gases, therefore deteriorating global air quality. On the other hand, purchasing and consuming a range of products without proper recycle, visitors would add more pressure on local environment. For example, a used-to-be hotspot, Phuket island now attracts less visitors because of its dirty beaches where tourists found easy to spot plastic bags and food remains.

In order to address this problem, a two-step method could be implemented. Firstly, a green tax should be imposed to all transports during holidays to reduce less long-distance and unnecessary travels. Nowadays cheap air travels offered by Lion airlines and other affordable airlines provide an easy access for the public to travel around the world, so charging environmental tax to increase the travel cost would make potential travelers think twice before heading to any destinations. Secondly, it is vitally important to promote eco-friendly awareness among visitors, and broadcasting local environment rules on flight or train before arriving would be a good receipt. As a result, individuals would be more aware and alert of their behavior, contributing to more sustainable developments in the attraction city.

To conclude, while increasing holiday travel engenders more environmental problems, efforts including charging a green tax and promote eco-friendly awareness could be exerted to solve these problems.