It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that undergraduate should stay in halls of residence, homestay and so on instead of inhabiting at parent-owned house. While I disagree with the idea of letting students live far from their home, I do believe that this tendency could benefit young people.

On the one hand, staying far away from home is not a good way. Firstly, they can have bad relationship outside as they lack parental control or sometimes neglect with their studying because of some reasons like doing part time job to deal with daily cost. For example, poor family can not afford for regular demand so students now tend to take part in part time job than going to extra classes. As a result, they may receive bad result after graduating. Secondly, students get used to living with their parents and the care of them so they may suffer from serious homesickness. Therefore, their academic performance and social life will be adversely affected.

On the other hand, students should not allow to live close to their family. First and the foremost, students live far away from their family and have to deal with daily problems by themselves, this can help them become indepently. They have to go shopping and cook their own meals, for example. On top of that, living in a different place will offer students a chance to learn about new people and cultures apart from those of their own when they live at home, they will have life experience. Consequently, undergraduate will open the door to explore new life besides their home.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that staying with family is a safe way for students, but it is also better for them to live far away from their home.