It is better to learn the way people lived in the past through films and video records than written documents.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Studying the lives of people in the past is a task of history learners, and there is a diversity of methods to achieve this. It is often argued that movies and video accounts give the learners more advantages than written texts. I personally believe that each type of information has their own merits and demerits.

Films and recorded segments own both positive and negative points in conveying what happened in the old days. As for the good points, they have visual and audio effects for transferring real experiences to viewers. One typical example is the treasured videos during World War II, which captured the harsh lives of both soldiers on the frontline and civilians in mother countries. Via these valuable footages, a medley of qualities can be perceived, such as resident terror in families, supreme sacrifice for patriotism, great fortitude against enemies. Thus, current generations could gain an insight into the hostile lives of the former ones and show empathy and respect to the people making such a lofty contribution. However, the movies and recordings are sometimes subjective. It means that storylines, characters and occurrences can be choreographed and edited based on the wishes of directors, which guides watchers into the way they stage. As a consequence, debates or misconceptions would be aroused among audience after a history film is launched to the public. `

Similarly, written records have both upsides and downsides. One upside is that their reliability is high, which means they tend to be objective. For example, the great battles of the Three Kingdoms during the feudal time in China were portrayed in a historically accurate way. Every fight from minor to major ones was all compiled in the series of books, reflecting war events and conflicts among dynasties in real life. Therefore, readers can give credence to these historical records and also study important facts based on them. Nevertheless, one primary downside is that the texts cannot be reserved in an original state for a long time. This partly because they could be damaged by war when a country is attacked and transformed into a colony. They could be incompletely assembled as they are passed down to descendants. As a result, the stored information and sometimes the critical one is often missed.

In conclusion, the movies and video accounts have positives and negatives when used as a tool to learn about people’s lives in the old days, which is similar to the historical documents. Personally, I believe that each type of information should be selected according to individual interest.