It is better to live in a city than in a small town. Do you agree?

Many people prefer to live in cities than in small towns, mainly because there are more employment opportunities, and also because it is more interesting.

One advantage of living in a city is it is much easier to find work. Most large companies are located in cities as well as numerous small businesses and service industries. In addition, there are government departments which employ large numbers of people. Another benefit of living in a city is there is a wide range of entertainment. There are cinemas, where the latest films are shown, cafes and clubs, people meet socially and also concert and exhibitions. Moreover, food lover can visit a variety of restaurants which serve both local and international cuisine. Finally, education is better in cities, due to the many schools and universities, which are rarely found in small towns. Furthermore, cities offer a variety of learning opportunities, both formal and informal, such as language and cookery courses.

However, there also drawbacks of living in a city. Firstly, cities are usually very crowded. This means that suitable accommodation is expensive and difficult to find. What is more, as so many people travel around the city, public transportation is often full and uncomfortable, particularly during the rush hour. Secondly, cities are usually polluted. This includes pollution from emissions, industry and also household waste. Low quality of air in a city can harm human immune system.

In conclusion, although there are many disadvantages of living in a city, I believe it is better to live in a town.