It is difficult for people who live in cities to get enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions could be taken to solve the problem?

Globally, the importance of avoiding leading a sedentary lifestyle has been recognised by an increasing number of people, while urban residents tend to have less physical exercise. This essay will look at the possible causes of the issue and practical measures that could be taken by people to deal with it.

The main factor contributing to less physical exercise for city dwellers is the jobs that require them to stay in front of the screen for hours. In metropolitan areas where a majority of employees are working as office clerks, it is difficult for them to stand up and stretch during workdays, thereby lessening the chances to have sufficient exercise. In addition, lacking places, including parks, stadiums and sports courts, suppresses people’s willingness to do physical exercise when they have spare time. Thus, city residents tend to have reduced sports time.

Companies and the government can work collaboratively to encourage urban people to have more physical workouts. If employers are willing to pay for breaks during workdays, providing staff with opportunities to have a 10-minutes stroll, or quip offices with free gym rooms, employees would be more active with all the accessible exercising chances. At the same time, the government should organise and develop cities with more well-established infrastructure, so people are able to do more outdoor exercise.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed the reasons why it is difficult for urban residents to have enough physical exercise, namely the sedentary working style and the limited choices of sports facilities, and the possible solution for the problem. All over the world, people in metropolitan areas will become much healthier with increasing physical exercise if employers and the government are able to provide more resources.