It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries in the future Do you think it is a positive or negative development

It is widely believed that the number of senior people will solely outnumber that of the young generation worldwide in the future. From my perspective, this phenomenon will exert a negative impact and pose a serious threat to the improvement of society as a whole. This essay will first give a plausible explanation, and then talk about its impacts on the human race.

First of all, the situation in which an increase in the number of elderly citizens compared to the youth will put heavy pressure on the government budget. This is because senior generation not only retires from the laboring workforce, but also being paid for their pension annually by the governments, which reduces the finance for other aspects of life. For example, the retired community in Vietnam has been receiving monthly pension since 2014, exerting a reduction in the total national budget.

Furthermore, this phenomenon has been a burden for the young generation recently, due to the fact that the youth has a huge responsibility to provide finance for their families, and therefore, literally no one at home to take care of their grandparents. For instance, Japanese housewives are usually responsible for the housework and caring for their children as well as their grandparents, while their husbands are the breadwinners, and thus these women can not pursue their own careers.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of the aging population generally has been causing some bad impacts on the development of a community, which is a financial burden for their governments and their children.