It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for example, for sport or music; and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a sports person or musician. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is possible that genetics as nature and environment as nurture are not mutually exclusive. This assumption may explain in part the different levels of personal ability in music, art, sport and so on. In other words, good training is as important as natural talents.

From one point of view, being born with special gifts is certainly an advantage. What tells a difference is the innate talent which may be something that cannot be taught, and something money cannot buy. That is to say, without such born talent, no matter how good the teacher is or how frequently a person practices, there is little hope for him or her to become an excellent musician, artist, or sports player. Underlying this view is the fact that there is more to a natural skill than a learned technique. Indeed, some people do have talents that are probably inherited via their genes, allowing them to excel in specific fields. In comparison, more hard-working students are likely to find it next to impossible to reach as high a level as desired.

Nevertheless, from the other point of view, it seems that in right environment, practice would make perfect. Hard work could make a difference in children who are motivated to be aiming high in whatever discipline, including music, art or sport. At school, plenty of exceptional examples are found as evidence to support the claim that a child can acquire specific skills through continuous training under appropriate guidance. This implies the importance of learning with natural gifts or without. Further, it may be said that gifted persons would remain only gifted persons if their talents were not developed properly. Actually, the current education systems are based on the belief that all children can be taught to learn different skills, however demanding.

As a conclusion, any child can be trained to different degrees to become professionals, but to be really good in such areas as music, art and sport, then probably certain talents are required. The innate ability is always a plus, but it does not mean that the born talent is itself a guarantee for success. Nor does it indicate that, for not being born with certain talents, people should not at all learn particular skills.