It has been believed that people who read for pleasure have developed imagination and language skills better than people who prefer to watch TV. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Literacy is crucial for all of humans and reading can bring more benefits than watching television, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons which will support my opinion on both individuals and society.

On the one hand, personal behaviour and imagination ability might change when people prefer to read. For example, humans can train our mind and maintain their concentration by books which involve something such as economy and policy. In reality, elderly people might suffer from alzheimer’s association, and that problem can be solved when they read regularly. On the other hand, reading not only build up mental strength but also develop social communication skills. In addition, the more people read, the better they speak. In particular, both vocabulary and grammar will be improved or people can gain experiences through books’ situations in order to avoid mistakes in society.

By contrast, although watching television affect positively people’s life, it is not as good as reading. For instance, it is better to read well-known Harry Potter book series of JK Rowling than see their films because people can imagine themselves all characters or stories. Moreover, most movies have informal languages, so people cannot improve their academic vocabulary. Furthermore, humans’communication might be difficult because these languages cannot be used in a formal letter as well as an essential meeting.

For the reasons mentioned above, I tend toward the viewpoint that people can have more creation in their thoughts and language skills when they read. The most important thing is that reading is looking pretty good compared to watching.