It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

Administrating punishment as an effective learning way for children has become a frequent of debate with strong arguments for and against. From my standpoint, it seems that this idea is rational and a number of punishments seem to be possible.

First and the most, children are not born with knowledge about right and wrong behavior. Considering this fact, it is natural that they make mistakes or do something wrong. So they should be taught by their parents and teachers about what is wrong and what is considered right through varied methods. If a bad behavior repeatedly occurs, in attempt to tackle this problem, imposing discipline can be put in place by adults include parents and teachers.

It goes without saying that corporal punishment is not acceptable because this type of punishment is belittling. The punishment should not be intimidating and humiliating. The chosen way should be constructive and be associated with some lessons for child with no negative effect on child`s self-esteem. For example, parents can cancel an outing, refuse for buying a birthday gift for their child, not to allow child to watch their favorite cartoon show etc. on the other hand, since children are sensitive about their scores, penalties which influence their scores would be considerably effective to implement by teachers.

In conclusion, while I do not refute the effects of punishment on teaching children, I believe that adults should carefully discipline their children and students to avoid negative effects on children.