It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?
From the begining of youth, children should be brought up with the teaching to distiguish between
right and wrong.This is an important topic of debate that whether punishment is essential to help
them acquire this sense of distuingishment. I disagree with the notion that strict punishment should
be implemented in such a case, but in my opinion institutionalized rules and educational
punishments can be helpful for proper teaching of a child.
One of the fundamental lessons for a child at the beginning of its childhood is to learn to decide
which is wrong and which is right. To be a good and decent human being, it is the most significant
quality to be achieved by a young child. But implementing harsh punishment not only fails to teach
children this sense of distinction, but also creates hindrances in their path of learning. At an ver early
age, the young minds of the children remain very curious and flexible. As they are adaptive to the
environment surrounding them, they learn easuly and quickly if proper examples are around them.
The young minds can be taught almost any lesson with proper motivation and inspiration. Whereas,
if they are forced rather than motivated, then they cannot accept the teaching properly. Children
react negatively to strict punishments thinking those to be unjust and cruel which results to the
opposite outcome of the teaching. Also, the developing minds of the young chinldren are so fragile
that severe rules and punishments can be fatal for their growth and eventually, it can have a negative
impact on the children’s whole lives.
But it is also established that proper rules and justified penalties for braking them are benefical for
the growth of a child. In place of severe and physical punishments instructive ones can help a child
develope the sense of wrong doing which in the long run prevents them from repeating similar
mistakes. Hence, to establish the learning of distinguishment between right and wrong some
educative punishments can bring productive results.
To make the proper disnction between right and wrong must be taught to every child at a very
early age. In place of punishments, motivation, inspiration and good example are the keys to
enlighten a child of this sense of difference. But in times of necessity appropriate punishments
should be provided to help the children learn in the best possible way.