It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is undeniable that children need to learn to separate right from wrong at an young age. There are many ways parents teach their offspring about the good and the bad. Although some people believe such education can be incorporated in the little one's mind by punishing them for their bad deed, I would disagree with this notion. Silent treatment, time-out are much appreciated form of punishment among the child specialists as they tend to leave less emotional scar on the children's minds.

Firstly, hard punishment creates fear and anxiety in children's mind. Although they may stop continuing their bad behavior for a small period of time, they only do it for the fear of the punishment and not because they understand the underlying thoughts. Secondly, the kids begin to detest the punisher. If parents or teachers reprimend a child for every action s/he takes, then that child will become an indecisive adult. Moreover, some younglings will certainly hold some type of resentment toward their punishers and often distance themselves from them as time goes by. Besides, some kids even get used to the punishment so much that they begin to ignore it and the whole process looses its effects altogether. Thirdly, punishing a child has its own repercussion on the child's psyche. Many child-psychologists have reported that children are now going through depression as a result of their familial behavior and teachers' action. In certain developed countries, physical beating from parents or teacher are punishable by law and will be judged as child abuse in courts.

Both schools and families can you multiple teaching mechanisms to highlight right actions from wrong ones in front of the children. Parents from developed countries like the USA or Canada give silent treatment to their younger ones when they do something unappreciable in stead of beating them. They also ground the kids to their rooms and ban them from using any devices: watching TV or playing video games or using cellular device. Furthermore, some strict parents would even stop them from going out with friends and take away any privileges they had as a form of punishment. School teacher generally uses time out to calm down the challenged student and call his or her parents to talk him or her in order to make them understand how vile their action is. Finally, if all fails to help the young ones, they are suggested to a counsilor or a psychiatrist to understand the problems behind their action.

In conclusion, most children act out as a result of not getting enough attention from their parents. Proper care, love and support from their families, friends and society will actually help them to recover faster and distinguish the good and bad behavior more strongly than any punishment ever could.