It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is generally argued that children at their tender ages should be aware of the good and bad manners in their life, thereby punishment is recommended to differentiate this distinction. However, as far as I am concern, I definitely disagree with this solution since there are many alternative solutions in lieu of punishment to educate children.

It is apparent that well-communicated manner between adult people and children is far more beneficial than punishment. Firstly, it piques children’s curiosity when their parents explain what right or wrong of an action is. For example, when my three-year-old nephew bullies her classmates, her father instead of using tough punishment, he spanks her and questions whether it hurts or not. She bursts out into tears and apologies to her father and her peers for her ill behaviours. Secondly, acknowledging the differences between right and wrong since childhood defers people from committing crimes when they are adults. Some people those are in shortage of proper education in early ages are more likely to violate the law, according to a survey at Hanoi University.

With regard to educate children how to behave well, there are still some parents and teachers use punishments as an effective method. As long as punishments which do not hurt children physically and mentally is acceptable to apply, such as making children stand still in a silent room or prohibiting children from watching TV or going out with their peers until they admit their faults and promise never made that mistake again.

In conclusion, though it is essential to teach children to differentiate right and wrong in life, parents and teachers should spend time talking to their children and helping them discern the distinction instead of utilize punishment.