It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

For some people, punishment is considered to be an important tool to teach children to distinguish right and wrong. In my opinion, having children penalized is not the effective way to educate them. However, even though there’s the appropriate level of punishment, discussing with children can be a more useful mean to teach children the ability to identify the righteousness.

Firstly, the children who have been punished may not understand the reason behind that punishment. Without the proper communication, it brings out the negative perspective in the youth. For instance, from the news nowadays, teenagers who live in the strict families that have many rules and penalties tend to cause more problems, such as drugs and violent, than in the open-mind family. Moreover, punishment ceases the children’s confidence because they are too scared to express their thoughts and, as a result, lose the ability to make a judgement between right and wrong.

In contrast, instead of punishing, discussing with children improves the children’s reasoning skill and the ability to learn the difference between right and wrong. By this way, the children will not feel that they are penalized. Instead, they will have courage to think and learn. For example, my nephew often fights with his friend in the school. My aunt, who is his mom, always ask him politely about the reason of his action. She gradually teaches him the right thing to do instead of having a fight. After 3-4 discussions, my nephew seems to understand more. Finally, he stops having a fight with others. Clearly, having a deep discussion is a helpful method to teach the children.

In conclusion, punishing kids leads to the negative impact in children and will not be beneficial for them to learn. On the other hand, spending more time discussing with them is more effective, so parents and teacher should concentrate on talking with their children.