It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Education it is likety to be the most valueble teaching to be learnt by every child at fragile ages, not restricted only in academic lessons but in the behaviour as well.Often it is said, punishments are essential in order for children to distunguish between good and right. I certainly believe any physical abuse must be forbidden as a method to discipline the youth but instead extrinsic incentives could develop a fairer judgement.

To begin with, any kind of punishment which affects the child sanity to a trauma rather than a pleasant teaching will affect the individual in the future.This consequence will result in a negative change of personality and socialisation problems with other children and relatives. Researchers revelead that people who have been repeatedly molested throughout their lifes, would most likely do the same with their own children because they took this behaviour as a normality.

On the other hand , it seems that teaching good behaviour and virtues when children are still young , will be easier for both parents and teachers.During this period, it has been proved that extrinsic incentives are the most effective teaching method. For instance, if a child is rewarded with a candy or a toy for doing the right thing than he would perceive this behaviour as the just action.In addition, if the pupil was punished when he commited a wrong action with a ban such as : not playing with

his favorite toy for a period of time or a soft rebuke , than he would think twice before doing the wrong thing again.

To conclude with, in order for a child to develop harmonious and to know the abstract meanings of right and wrong , physical or mentally punishments have to be avoided. The effective solutions remains those such as a soft rebuke or taking away the favorite toy.