It is important to lean the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.to what extend do you agree and disagree with this opinion?what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be a

It is true that children should learn when they are young how to difference between right and wrong. Some people believe that punishment is the way to make them learn this difference, some others, like me, strongly believe that punishment will never be the solution to make a boy or a girl learn about this.

Firstly, punishments are strongly not recommended by every recent psychology study. Instead of punishment, parents and teachers should learn how make children think about what they did and make them have a logical consequence according to their actions. For example, if a kid hit another, educators should talk to him or her and, after making that child realize that hitting someone else is wrong, there should be a repair, like an apology and any kind act to make the other kid feel better.

Secondly, reflecting about their actions and making reparations is harder for educators, but leads to a better understanding and interiorization about what is right or wrong. This way of teaching kids, may be slower and may need harder work from teachers and parents, but it will always lead to making children identify good and bad from their own reflections, rather than from an external opinion as when punishment is applied. For instance, when a boy makes a drawing on a wall, and one of his parents ask him if that is wrong, and shows him that he has draw on a paper and ask him to clean the wall, he will start interiorizing that drawing on walls is forbidden. He may do it again, and parents should repeat this cycle every time, with calm and respect until he realize wrong.

As a conclusion, I strongly believe that there is no possibility that any sort of punishment could be the best option to teach little kids about what is good or bad. There is another method that implies time and dedication from adults, the one that makes them reflect and have a natural consequence for their actions. This way could take more time than punishment, but I truly believe that will have better results for the children.