It is impossible to help all people around the world in need, so governments should focus on people from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely perceived that aiding global citizens is unfeasible, so the authorities should only place emphasis on people of their own country. Personally, I concur that helping people around the world is essential, but priority should be given to people from their own country.

There are innumerable reasons why government’s attention should be paid to local population, the most notable one is the credibility towards beaurocracy. Knowing that their needs are thoroughly fulfilled, the general public would feel grateful for what policymakers have done for them. For instance, there exist countless problems facing civilians in today’s world, namely housing shortage, water deficiency, poverty and crime, which potentially pose a serious threat to their well-being. Government intervention such as providing affordable housing units and subsidizing the underprivileged would therefore make them feel secure and salvaged. This could in turn instil a sense of patriotism among these individuals, thereby helping maintain social order. An explanation for this is people who are dissatisfied with national political system and social welfare may easily engage in activities that inflict damage to the nation’s security and cause harm to innocent people. Meanwhile, should domestic populace be provided with proper education and medical care, they would become skilled and healthier, function more productively and therefore make greater contributions to the national economy.

In spite of the justifications mentioned above, the state should land a helping hand to the needy from other parts of the world. Such is a smart approach that could not only facilitate unity between different cultures but also nourish reciprocity among Earthlings. Specifically, once a country gives support to the areas that are severely affected by natural calamities or wars, it would someday receive help in return if stroke by bad luck. Not only could the action foster peace between nations but it also creates a better world in which people would become less selfish and self-centered. It should also be noted that when assisting others, a country’s international profile would undoubtedly be bolstered. As a result, that nation could attract an influx of overseas investors and visitors, which proves to be fruitful to regional economic sector.

In sum, providing assistance to the national inhabitants is of significant importance, but offering help to those in need all over the globe should not overlooked due to its long-term benefits.