It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn’t worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decade the construction of buildings have been raising many of questions of its utility. Although there are some proponents of facade improvements, I think that buildings need to serve a purpose.

There are a multitude of reasons why the buildings serve a purpose. First, The construction of many buildings could act as an incentive for a decrease in some social problems. For example, An increase in social housing means more shelters for the homeless or low-income individuals, which promote significantly their living standards. Second, functional buildings could act as an deterrent for the deterioration of the environment. In fact, skyscrapers with solar power contribute to a lower degree of fossil fuel consumption for electricity production, lowering the concentrations of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere.

Additionally, landmarks with ravish facade could be fraught with some negative consequences. First, Constructing a skyscraper with impressive external appearance is invariably associated with a prohibitive cost of decorations and maintenance. This would require a high level of capital investment from the official authorities, potentially leading to economic recession. A landmark with attractive facade could be susceptible to instability and inflexibility than other buildings because of the architects’ ignorance of strict constructive codes. This means that these buildings could be conductive to collapse when it comes to the natural disasters especially earthquakes, which could culminate in some tragic fatalities.

In conclusion, I believe that utilitarian buildings could bestow net positive benefits in terms of social issues as well as a reduction in pollution. The local government is highly-recommended to subsidize these functional projects for the sustainability and development of citizens.