It is more important for governments to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment of people who are already ill.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether governments should invest money in promoting a healthy lifestyle or developments of treatment has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although allocating budget for health-promoting campaigns would be beneficial for citizens in terms of prevention of illness, the amount of money spent on treating serious diseases is much greater than that of preventing them.

There are a number of factors contributing to a healthy lifestyle. First of all, since some are ignorant of personal health, they are likely to suffer from related-food risks In fact, these people feel inclined to have excessive consumption of low-quality food, leading to serious diseases such as obesity or even cancer. Therefore, by launching propagation campaigns about healthy lifestyle, local authorities enable their citizens to avoid such diseases and become healthy-conscious ones in the long run.

Nevertheless, spending money on treatment of patients who are already ill would be more outweighed than that of health-related campaigns. First, there are some patients suffering from genetic diseases, who require to have special treatment Asthma, for example, is a testament to such diseases, doctors could eradicate the disease thanks to the improvement and development of treatment. Second, investment in treatment is no less important and imperative due to the appearance of more contagious diseases. This means that the outbreak of diseases like dengue fever posing a threat to human’s life, which needs to develop a treatment to prevent these diseases and ensure people’s safety now and down the road.

In conclusion, given promoting a healthy lifestyle in some cases makes a contribution to the protection of illness, enhancing treatment for diseases would be far more significant. By considering both perspectives, the government could find the best way of approaching this dilemma