It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole.

What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary era, researchers and visitors are now able to travel to almost any of the remote places around the planet. The ability to travel to such places, in itself was a huge achievement for humankind. Whereas, it does possess some pros and cons to traveling to such untouched natural places.

Exploring the unknown is in human nature itself. Scientists, researchers, or explorers around the globe usually run an expedition, ranging from days to months. They try to explore the most remote places of the planet like the South Pole, Amazon's Forest, Pacific Ocean, and Antarctica etcetera, for numerous reasons. Scientists/researchers learn to survive in these unhabitable environments to execute their respective research/experiments like studying the hole of the Ozone layer or what lies beneath the antarctic snow etcetera. Their research in turn led humankind to use various natural gifts provided by the planet and knowledge. Whereas tourists visiting such places are usually experienced in exploring the planet, their trips to such unhabitable places also spread awareness among people, that, if stuck how to survive in such conditions.

However, every coin has its two sides, exploring such remote and untouched environments also has some disadvantages which can directly affect them. Exploration of such places by scientists will lead to knowledge of any natural resource if available to governments, eventually leading to the exploitation of that particular natural environment that should have remained untouched by humans. For instance, whenever some precious ore or oil fields located in remote places around the globe come on the radar of the governments, they try to exploit them all, seeking revenue. Tourists traveling to such places can also hamper the original/untouched conditions of such environments.

To sum up, the ability to explore the planet at its remotest places was a huge breakthrough but also brought some disadvantages with it. Scientists/tourists exploring the world can bring huge information/knowledge to humankind but they must not try to hamper or exploit those untouched environments.