It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study
science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?
In several parts of the world, there is currently a lack of students choosing to study
science in universities and colleges. This problem happens due to some reasons, and it
can have some adverse impacts on society.
There are several reasons why fewer university students are choosing science as their
major. Firstly, these subjects are usually more difficult and demanding, which requires
students to put much effort into their study. For example, my friend who is doing a
course in Biology said that he had to conduct too many experiments and complete
numerous projects, which prevented him from having any free time. As a result, science
subjects seem to be less attractive to students compared to economics or businessrelated
subjects. Secondly, as there are currently fewer employment opportunities
available for graduates in science fields, learners are less likely to decide to select these
majors. Instead, they tend to choose other subjects which allow them to find jobs more
easily.
A shortage of learners in science fields can result in some negative effects. The first
impact is that when fewer students decide to learn about science, there would be a
serious shortage of employees working in these fields. This would lead to fewer
technological developments, which would also prevent improvements in people's life
quality. For instance, it would be difficult for humans to produce newer smart phones
with better functions. Additionally, while a significantly increasing number of students
are choosing economics and business to study, the number of job vacancies in these
areas is limited. Therefore, many university graduates would have to face
unemployment, which increases burden on society.
In conclusion, the shortage of students choosing science subjects is caused by several
factors, and this problem might bring about serious impacts.