It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to providing formal education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is always said that the sacred mission of educational establishments goes beyond the constraint of academic knowledge, extending into the domain of human behavior. In my opinion, this statement is reasonable because of the two primary features: the unique context of the schools and moral competence of preceptors.

Firstly, a variety of singular opportunities in which students can be taught to behave properly should be offered in the environment of schools. This is because there is a diverse of cross-section individuals mostly made up of fellow students and teachers, unlike the context of their homes, where the interactive circle is smaller and less varied. A primary school student, for instance, can be taught, observe and emulate different patterns of good behavior from teachers and friends, thereby being positively shaped into an honest and responsible citizen afterwards. Such behavioral modes might not be nurtured and developed at home which is confined by family members sharing similar beliefs and tendencies.

Finally, the schools are the best places to nurture well-behaved children thanks to educational ethics of teachers. Not only does specialized subject knowledge belong to the teachers, but they also own upstanding behavior, which can shape children’s impressionable behavioral patterns. Daily actions are the most common factors gradually influencing the students’ reverence, benevolence and modesty, which act as the core principles to success in the future. The class greetings, for example, is a good illustration for this point. The students are kindly greeted by any teacher upon his arrival at class, and he is respectfully greeted in return. Therefore, the teacher is a leading paradigm for the class about respect towards other people, inculcating such attitude to the children’s mind. Gradually, they would venerate everyone regardless of hierarchical positions.

In conclusion, the schools should be responsible for molding well-formed behavior for the students along with equipping them with textbook knowledge. By doing so, every student would be a good citizen who has both necessary virtue and capability for a country’s prosperity.