The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient life (or live a less comfortable life) for the sake of future generations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that for the benefit of future generations, and to solve the present day environmental challenges, the current generation should live a less comfortable lifestyle. I completely agree with this statement, as it will be a great step for our planet and the future of mankind.

Firstly, it is a widely known fact that the biggest cause for environmental problems is increased human desires for luxurious lifestyles, which creates an undue pressure on our environment. If the present generation can make a few changes in their everyday life, such as, using paper bags instead of polythene bags for carrying groceries, the worldwide impact of such actions will solve the present day environmental issues to a great extent.

Secondly, there is an impending crisis for future generations due to the depletion of natural resources which is happening at an alarming rate. The judicious usage of these resources by today's generation will ensure a positive outlook for future energy and environment needs for the upcoming generation. To illustrate, in most of the developed countries people have started adopting cycling as their preferred option to commute for work instead of going by cars. As a result, there is a steady decrease in carbon emissions and fuels like oil and gas will last much longer.

Finally, the reason why the sacrifices by people is the need of the hour is that other alternatives like stricter laws by governments have failed to make any impact in solving the environmental problems. The state efforts go in vain due to lack of funds, and manpower to implement the laws. Consequently, people's contribution has become the single most significant factor with the potential to mitigate the environmental challenges and provide a secure future.

To conclude, if the modern day man can make certain cuts from his extravagant lifestyle, it can go a long way in dealing with the environmental crisis of today and secure a better future for mankind.