As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages.

What is your view of this practice?

In today’s world, languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin is spoken commonly, so there is a concern that many minority languages may disappear and governments have taken steps to preserve them. In my opinion, learning world languages has numerous advantages, however, protecting minority languages is also essential.

It goes without saying that learning commonly spoken languages is beneficial. It is a necessary skill that helps people increase the employment opportunity by having a language certificate such as IELTS (for English), HSK (for Chinese) or DELE (for Spanish). Additionally, having a high level of proficiency in second languages also gets deeper insights into different ways of thinking and living of different cultures and people across the globe. Besides, most international meetings or canonical literary works are in English or French or Spanish. Therefore, learning foreign languages, especially common languages, is one of the key factors in this modern world.

Otherwise, the fear of minority languages dying out is totally founded hence, protecting these languages is essential. The first reason is that language is a vital part of a country’s culture as it can maintain the identity and heritage of a community, for example: songs, literature or traditions. In addition, language also helps promote countries’ tourism because when a person learns a foreign language, it means that they may go to the country which the language they learn is spoken and as a result, the economy will be boosted. By having language education policy and promoting their mother tongue on social media, some countries succeeded in protecting their own language such as: Italy, Ireland and Scotland.

In conclusion, learning commonly spoken languages is crucial as it has numerous advantages. However, minority languages also need to be preserved since they are attached to the traditional and cultural and economic values.