A large number of young people cannot find jobs after they leave school. What problems will youth unemployment cause in individual and for society? What measures should be taken to reduce the level of unemployment among young people?

It is a common case that graduates are unable to apply for any jobs after finishing school. This leads to an increase in the youth unemployment, imposing different constrains on individuals and the society but some solutions are proposed in order to tackle this problem.

To begin with, there are several effects caused by higher rate of unemployment among the young generation. First, it is the interpersonal and social skills that the youngsters can learn if they enter the workforce. Without such environment, they are less likely to get exposed to a wide range of workplace issues, limiting their chances to widen their social network and develop problem solving skills. Regarding the society, young individuals not having any source of income might become a heavy burden for their family, which sometimes leads to committing crimes to satisfy their financial desires. In return, the image of their country is negatively influenced, leaving a bad impression to foreigners when they travel there.

Therefore, more measures should be considered to alleviate this challenge in the long run. One possible solution involves the investment from the government in language education to create employment opportunities for the fresh graduates. Funding for educational programs in English examination, the IELTS or TOEFL for example, should be allocated properly if the country wants to develop. Moreover, workshops focusing on teaching soft skills at workplace should be organized on a frequent basis. By doing so, young people will have a good environment where they can practice to enhance their communication skills. For a broader view, universities can cooperate with companies to bring internship opportunities for senior students as a way to seek for hidden talents or push them to their fullest potentials.

To conclude, although a rise in youth unemployment causes many trouble for everyone, there are possible solutions including the support from the authority to address this issue.