In the last 20years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the world wide web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The last two decades has seen enormous changes in the lives of people about the aspect of advance technology. However, it can be argued that in as much as information technology has been beneficial it is likely to do more damage than good in the nearest future.

To begin, communication through email has been of enormous help especially abroad in the areas of business and commerce. Furthermore, the large size of the world-wide web has made it simpler and easier to look up information on any conceivable subjects. For example, people can get access to news, medical advice, online educational course and so on via the internet. it is clear that, access to all these information has made life less complex for people and it will continue to do so in the future.

Nevertheless, not all the technological advancements are beneficial. For instance, communication through email have been found to destroy traditional way of socializing with others.it has affected negatively on the way we interact through letter writing and telephone calls as a way of communication. Likewise, face to face interaction with people is lesser than before which will destroy the way we socialize. it is obvious that, this will be the case if drastic measures are not taken on how to prevent permanent damage to the way we communicate.

In addition, the gigantic size of the web makes it easy to get access to websites and viruses which are not regulated and controlled especially by children. it is known that juveniles look up information which are not right for their ages and this can affect the way and manner they interact or behave in the future. For instance, recently it has been in the lime light about websites who groom youngsters into self harming and ways on how to commit suicide.

In Conclusion, developments in information technology is in no doubt beneficial but are likely to have more negative impacts that positive if they are not regulated and controlled in the future.