In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel.

What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

International air travel has grown substantially over the past ten years. One of the many reasons is the expansion of the aviation industry all around the world making travel convenient. While this has connected the world globally, one of its negative impacts has been the rise in environmental pollution of the earth.

The rapid growth of the aviation corporation has greatly enhanced the air transportation system making it efficient and convenient for everyone. A few reasons being, travelling from one country to another has become much cheaper and faster than before. People no longer need long holidays or huge budgets to go on a journey, whether it be for pleasure or work. Air transportation is also relatively safer due to the enhanced safety and security protocols that every passenger has to follow when taking flights. For instance, a survey showed that more than half of the US citizens would prefer to take a domestic flight from one city to another instead of driving themselves for long hours due to the safety and time convenience.

On the other hand, the commercialization of air transportation has lead to a detrimental impact on the environment. The release of exhaust fumes from the engines has polluted the skies and damaged the atmosphere, thereby, contributing significantly to global warming. In addition, the noise pollution from the roar of the engines when the planes fly over a residential landscape has greatly impacted the lives of those residing near the airports. For example, the Sao Paulo airport in Brazil is located right next to the beach and although the sight of planes flying quite low adds to the attraction of the tourists it is quite inconvenient for the residents of the city due to the constant noise pollution.

In conclusion, although travelling has been made affordable and efficient by all means over the past decade, it has also added greatly to the air and noise pollution causing a negative impact on the environment.