Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Probably due to the significant advance of technology and serious alternations in social interactions, there are people who argue that learning about History is no longer impactful towards contemporary society. I strongly advocate the perspective of disagreement based on the following reasons.

Firstly, the past is genuinely what makes the present. There is no doubt that the actions implemented in the past are what bring the consequences to the current situations. By studying History, the individuals will have a chance to analyze the past events and re-evaluate the past responses, which will help them to decide the most optimal approach if they encounter a similar problem or to prevent identical tragic outcomes. For instance, the United Nations which is well-known for its activities that bring prosperity to people globally is inspired by the League of Nations resulting from the treaty of Versailles. However, the organization paid great attention to its purpose and actions to stay neutral and unbiased, since History showed the outbreak of World War II due to unfairness in the treaty itself and the League of Nations. Therefore, people living today must be aware of the past because the past not only shows our gruesome mistakes but also depicts our unsophisticated approaches to the problems.

Secondly, the majority of technical development or changes in social life for the better is all originated from the attempts of our counterparts in the past. Because the approach did not work out in the past, it does not translate that it is not going to be useful in the present. By renovating the past ideas and improving the past approaches, the present is gifted with more convenient ways of doing things. To cite an instance, some of the hospitals in London are now considering innovating their ventilation systems in the wards based on the hospital designs in the 19th century, since that design can provide more natural and hygienic air for the patients, compared to the air-conditioned rooms. Hence, it is crucial to educate ourselves about the past, since it may have some easter eggs that will bring a positive impact to our current lifestyles.

To conclude, it is natural that people can get overwhelmed by the complexity of current issues which eventually led them to think that learning about past events is not necessarily important. Nonetheless., such opinion should not be convinced as truth, and in fact, should be considered to be eliminated since knowing about History will certainly provide the people the ways, the mechanisms, and the ideas which are so much crucial and beneficial for the well-being of the society and the betterment of the globe as a whole.