Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world.
What are the reasons for this ? and suggest some solutions.
These days, an increasing number of people are concerned about an increase in the levels of youth crime in
many cities. This essay will discuss some reasons why this has occurred and suggest some ways overcome
this worrying trend.
No one can deny that there is a variety of determining factors which are responsible for the growth of teenage
crime. The first reason is connected with the family. In order for children to grow up in a balanced way, it is
very important that they are nurtured well by their parents. However, nowadays, it is often the case that children
are neglected. This may be because of the fact that many parents in cities now both have to work, so they are often
not around to give their children support when needed. Another factor is the increasing levels of poverty around
the world. We have seen with globalisation the rich get richer and the poor get poorer, and this inevitably means
that those who are poorer will have to resort to illegal means to get what others have. Of course, this will
include the children in the poorer families. For example, more than 50 percent of the family in African countries
earn less than one dollar a day and obviously this amount of money is not enough to maintain the living
standard for their children; therefore, they tend to commit a crime to survive. All in all, it is clear that there are a
couple of reasons leading to increasing young crime rate.
However, there are several actions that could be taken to eradicate the problems described above. Firstly, one of
the ways to combat the problem is to have stricter punishments. Although it can be outside factors that lead to
crime, it is still important to have severe punishments to deter teenagers from crime. All too often, because they
are young, the courts are too lenient. Parents also have to take more responsibility for their children’s actions.
They too should be punished if their children commit a crime. Therefore, reducing youth crime rate would
possibly be the result of these actions.
In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for youth crime increase in many large cities, and steps
need to be taken to tackle these issues. I hope that all governments in the world should collaborate on reducing
the gap between the rich and the poor, only by which can people live in a security world in the future.