Life now is better than it was 100 years ago.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that the quality of life significantly improved over the last century. The convenience of modern life is due to several scientific and technological advancements that allows us to enjoy certain pleasures and luxuries not possible before. Although I agree that this maybe the case, I also believe that there are some problems that have risen from these breakthroughs.

In one hand, improvements can be seen in several aspects of our lives. For instance, the use mobile smart phones have revolutionized communication. Gone are days that you have to look for phone booths to make a call, nowadays, you can talk or message anyone at any time by just mobile phones. Similarly, connecting and keeping in touch with other people anywhere in the world is as simple as ever by the use of social media platforms. Another example, in healthcare many illnesses were considered incurable before, now through innovations in medical science, mortality from fatal diseases has significantly been reduced.

On the other hand this advancement has its drawbacks. First, the level of greenhouse gas is at its record high due to proliferation of vehicles. This effect brought about climate change that continues to devastate many countries. Second, a different type of crime has sprung since the emergence of cybertechnology, people are now more concern about online security since scrupulous people can use their information to commit fraud. Lastly, social media has become a venue for bullying which resulted to increase cases of depression and suicide among the victims.

In summary, although modern science and technology has given us so much, it has also negatively affected our environment, online privacy and social life. I believe that these issues should also improve as our way of life becomes better.