Living in big cities is bad for people s health To what extent do you agree or disagree

City life affects badly on physical wellbeing of residents. I personally agree with this view point because those people are more vulnerable to develop metabolic diseases and respiratory diseases as a result of their sedentary life style and the presence of polluted air respectively.

Over the past few decades, the way city people live has largely changed in an unhealthy manner leading to huge number of health issues. For example, they tend to consume more junk food, which are rich in calories and lack of fibers, on account of convenience. In addition to higher rates of fast food consumption, city dwellers do not take part in adequate physical exercise largely due to their hectic work schedule. Therefore, high calorie intake and inadequate physical exercise both result in obesity, which in turn gives rise to metabolic diseases such as diabetes, hypertension, ischemic heart disease and cerebro vascular accidents.

Moreover, residents of cities have long been suffering from mild to severe breathing problems, which are certainly associated with higher levels of air pollution. Unfortunately, it is on the rise as a result of releasing toxic gases from growing number of large factories and motor vehicles on the roads. Inhalation of dirty air causes fatal lung diseases such as bronchial asthma, bronchiectasis, pulmonary edema and lung carcinomas. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that 15% of 40-50-year old city people develop lung malignancy as compared to 1% of those live in rural areas.

In conclusion, living in a city probably risks one’s physical fitness. Various respiratory illnesses and life threatening metabolic problems are more common among city people as a result of breathing dirty air and practicing unhealthy habits.