Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems

Residing abroad where one does not speak the local language can have several social and practical disadvantages. This essay will discuss why living in a foreign country with a language block actually proves beneficial despite some potential drawbacks.

People may travel and live overseas for a variety of different reasons. For instance, they may be visiting family or studying; some even reside abroad for business purposes. But being a country where the local population speaks a foreign language can have its downsides. For example, it proves difficult to communicate with others, and simple tasks such as shopping or taking a taxi often become tedious and frustrating. Furthermore, one may find it undesirable to socialize and feel like an outcast or experience tremendous loneliness. These factors alone illustrate the issues that arise with living in a country and finding difficulty in speaking the language.

However, despite the negative perception, there are some strong benefits to staying in a land where one cannot speak the local tongue. For instance, being thrust into an alien environment provides a significant learning experience. Therefore, if a similar situation were to arise in the future one would be able to effectively handle it. This proves one can be independent despite being in a state where communication is almost impossible. It also offers an ample opportunity to learn the native speech; there is arguably no better way to pick up a language than to interact and integrate with the local population.

In conclusion, dwelling in a nation where one must speak the native language has both its negatives and its positives. This essay discussed why traveling abroad and integrating with the local population, despite the language barrier, has more benefits than drawbacks. In my opinion, it provides a valuable life lesson and adds to one’s self-confidence and linguistic capabilities.