Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

Some people agree that speaking the native language of a country you are living in can have negative impact on one's behaviour, while others argue that this is not the case. This essay agrees that it is of importance to communicate and adapt to culture of the country one is living in to learn diversity. Benefits of adjusting to the language and practises of the country relocayed to; will be discussed.

Relocating to another country can have negative influence on families and can lead to breaking of marriages. The hustle of learning the native language can be draining especially to adults. Despite all the challenges that accompany settling in a foreign land, it is crucial to learn to speak the language they speak for effective communication. For instance, you get lost and you want to ask for directions. It is easier for some native speakers to direct you in their own language.

Furthermore, I do not agree that learning native language can cause negative character, but rather, I choose to believe that it all depends with one's personality. There are some people who are intrinsically motivated to do good all the way. For example, there are some Zimbabweans staying in South Africa who speak Zulu and Sotho and are believed to be dangerous armed robbers. People label every person who speak these languages badly, but not taking into consideration of those who are doing positive things to the community.

In addition, in some countries they only speak their native language. It is therefore necessary to learn the language for one to get employment. This is especially witnessed in China, they learn everything in Chinese. This caused me to agree with the saying;" when you are in Rome do as Romans do."

However, adjusting to the communication skills and practises can have negative impact, if not handled with care. There are some practises which need to be done into the country you are based in and should not be taken back to your country of origin, but human beings fail to do this which led to dilution of cultures. For example, in Zimbabwe women used to wear skirts and dresses only, but now we are putting on trousers which was regarded as men's clothing. This came about with someone who had migrated to another country and brought this fashion sense.

In conclusion, speaking foreign languages has it' s own drawbacks but they do not outweigh the benefits. It helps easy communication, unity among nations and appreciation of other people's practises.