Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Immigration to a more developed country is considered a remarkable trend currently. In order to adjust to a new environment, immigrants have to cope with various problems, particularly language barriers. Therefore, it is said that numerous serious social and practical problems can arise when people have to speak a different language when living abroad. However, I do not agree with the statement since I believe that those problems are not as serious as we thought.

On the one hand, people who are forced to use a foreign language when they are living overseas are prone to several problems. Firstly, for those who have a low ability to perform the language, they will have to face many difficulties in their daily lives and work or study as well. In fact, if a student is poor in their foreign language, they cannot understand thoroughly the lessons, assignments, further discussions, or even communication among their peers. Consequently, their school performances are detrimentally affected. Secondly, due to their language barriers, they cannot integrate into their new society, which results in several mental issues. Stress, disappointment and lack of confidence are problems that they are subject to. As a result, people who are not good at a foreign language may suffer from some social and practical problems when living in a new environment.

On the other hand, the problems mentioned are believed to be less tremendous in some cases. In terms of people with good language acquisition, they do not consider it a problem. Only when they perform the language well can they understand daily “slangs” or jokes from local people. Moreover, they are also believed to adapt quickly and be successful in many aspects of life. Additionally, for countries which use English or French as their main language, newcomers will find it extremely useful when being able to use them since they will have numerous opportunities to work in multicultural companies worldwide.

In conclusion, a foreign language may seem to cause several issues to citizens; however, those problems are not very tremendous and can be mitigated. Learners who are going to live in a country in which a totally different language should invest more in their language study progress in order to catch up with the native citizens there.