A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism has a great impact on the economic, social and cultural aspects of a country and people have different views whether it will be more beneficial rather than just a burden. While some are convinced that it is a key source of income, others presume that it might be a cause of trouble if not carefully controlled. In my point of view, tourism plays an enormous role and the merits are greater than the demerits.

Opening doors for the tourists welcome foreign exchange; visitor spending brings back business revenue, intellectual and technological influences and consequently increasing the overall economy. Tourism brings the idea to give importance to the preservation of the historical artifacts and infrastructure thereby diversifying livelihood, job openings and attracting potential investors. For example, when Saudi Arabia opened its tourism, it attracted foreign investors such as the Chinese and European big-time business owners. Positive influences also opened its door to women empowerment such as the ability to drive, make decisions for themselves and the right to have an education - basically starting to have the same rights as the men.

Together with the advancement comes the threat to the cultural and traditional aspects of the country. Cross-cultural connections open unwanted abrupt lifestyle changes that are detrimental to the host country such as negative changes in values and customs. Religious importance is diminished as can be seen from the younger generation since they mimic foreign cultures. What is happening now in Saudi Arabia is a very good example. The country has preserved for so long it’s traditional, cultural and religious conservative beliefs such as the wearing of black abaya that comes with the cloak to cover the hair and the face exposing only the eyes, prohibited public display of affection, mingling with the opposite sex and strict observance with prayer times wherein everyone, if not obliged to stop, they need to pray as well.

In conclusion, when it comes to advancements either economical or survival, the benefits of tourism is greater than the negative effect it brings, given that they should know how to set certain rules to preserve the upbringing of the citizens and the country and oblige the tourist to respect and obey the rules.