Male leaders have brought a lot of troubles and issues to the world such as violence and wars. Some people believe that world can be managed better and the world can become more peaceful if women become leaders.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are varying school of thoughts as to the impact of gender on leadership with regards to world peace. While some people believe that male rulers are prone to engage in wars and violence, others opine that global peace is more likely to be achieved if females are in leadership. I somewhat agree with the latter.

The female gender has been associated with peace mostly because they are believed to be good negotiators and mediators. In other words, they tend to excel in these skills because of qualities that have been traditionally perceived as feminine and maternal and as such when entrusted with leadership responsibilities, these skills are naturally brought to the fore. For example, Liberia which had experienced war for a very long time began to enjoy peace when Ellen Johnson took over as the first female president about five years ago.

Also, women leaders are more likely to be empathic and much less violent than their male counterpart. That is to say that, they are more sensitive about the wellbeing of others and are more likely to collaborate in work and leadership thereby discouraging conflict and promoting peace and unity. According to the Institute of conflict resolution in Britain, conflicts are 75% more likely to be resolved if women are involved in leadership.

On the other hand, throughout history there has been few records of women venturing into leadership. This implies that, the sample size to ascertain if they are more or less likely to promote peace is much more smaller than that of male leaders and as such comparisons between them will lead to skewed postulations. A study carried out by the South Wales business school confirmed this when it observed that fewer than 4% of all leaders have been female.

In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the world will be more peaceful with female leaders because of their innate ability to empathize and good negotiation skills. However, there are not enough records in history to categorically and completely support this.