Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say

that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say that we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Biodiversity is important to both human beings and ecological environment. While many animal species tend to die out, people have much debate on whether we should pay more attention to the survival of endangered species or the problems of ourselves. Both arguments have their reasons, and I will analyze each of them and give my opinion.

First of all, it is understandable for some people to argue that we should pay more attention to the situation of human begins. They tend to believe that extinction is a natural process that has been occurring since the existence of human being. According to Charles Darwin's theory, extinction is result from a process called "natural selection", in which it is quite normal for the species to die out which cannot successfully struggle for existence. In addition, when it comes to some underdeveloped countries, it is impossible for the government to strive to take countermeasures against animal extinction, since more people are living under the poverty line. Thus, it is more necessary to concentrate more on the life of citizenry as well as the social welfare.

However, it is remarkable to see the importance of protecting animals. In fact, the extinction of some species results in larger-scale extinction of other species. In other words, due to the extinction of many species, the original form of food chain is broken and therefore more and more vulnerable species become endangered and then go extinct.

Secondly, fatal natural and man-made disasters contribute to the perdition of a great many species. Extinction of some species will give rise to the ecological disasters, especially for some endangered species which benefits human health, other animals and the environment. Finally, many species are recognized as not only the biological heritage of our era, but also the cultural symbol of some ethnics. It is quite valuable and significant to protect these endangered species, since it will be beneficial to our human beings in terms of biology, culture, economy yet even history.

In conclusion, although man is the dominant species on the planet, all species enjoy the same right to survive here. We should respect other life forms by taking every effort we can to prevent the extinction of existing species.