In many countries around the world, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water pollution and land pollution, so they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the major kinds of discarded waste materials in most countries around the globe is plastic shopping bag. While the use of it makes life more convenient, some people argue that the utilization and disposal give rise to water pollution and land pollution; on that account it should be prohibited. In my opinion, I completely agree with this proposal.

The accumulation of plastic shopping bag usage consequently leads not only limited to water and land pollution, but as well as air pollution. Moreover, it poses as an environmental hazard, increasing the risk of health issues. For an instance, one small plastic bag takes about hundred or thousands of years to fully decompose if it is non biodegradable and approximately one to two years if biodegradable. Under these circumstances, if there are ten billion people and each one is using an average of two bags per day, it would be six hundred billion of plastic bags in a month.

The way how these plastic bags was manufactured presents a threat for global warming. The smoke being emitted by the factories for the production depletes the ozone layer, and it plays a huge role in greenhouse effect. In addition to this, most of the people in some countries were not concerned and aware about our environment and opt to burning these plastics as the fastest way to discard it. In other words, this thing will clearly jeopardize the environment and wellness of everyone.

In conclusion, the use of plastic bags obviously has more negative outcome rather than positive outcome. Furthermore, eradicating the use of it in our daily lives would be beneficial to the environment and to our health.