In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the ever-increasing health diseases are becoming one of the most serious threats to not only children at young ages but also the ones attending high school. Many hold the idea that the government should be fully accountable for this issue. However, I partly agree with this and also believe that, in some cases, parents and the children themselves are those to blame.

To begin with, holding the duty of maintaining a good healthcare for children is a vital role of the government. In many developing Western countries, fast food and processed food are being on sale through the social media on a regular basis. These are considered the reasons to multiple health risks including obesity or heart diseases, according to the experts. Therefore, the policy makers have an obligation to implement strict legislation to control the availability of such unhealthy food yet promote the number of advertisements about the benefits when practicing the habits of eating vegetables and fruit every day.

Nevertheless, despite the government's significance, parents and schools have to pay a close attention to their daily food intake. If parents did not let their offspring have an unbalanced diet and a lack of physical activities such as playing sports, lifting weights or doing exercises for at least half an hour a day, the rate of unhealthy young citizens would not be so high. In schools, there should be a certain number of lessons educating students about having healthy meals containing enough essential nutrients and vitamins. Reducing the amount of sugar for fat intake, for example, is a very helpful in preventing health deterioration.

In conclusion, in order to resolve this problem efficiently, the authorities, indeed, do play a significant role, but merely their effort shall not be enough. Parents and teachers also need to join hands in putting their children's diet in control.