In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should be have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the childhood obesity and poor healthy are now becoming a serious problem in many countries. While I disagree that authorities should take some steps to deal with this issue, I strongly believe that parents also play a crucial role.

The role a competent and responsible governments is to ensure the well-being of its people. First of all, officials should adopt policies to fight against the childhood obesity crisis such as confining the mass consumption of fast food or the advertisement on TV. Another way leaders could take immediate action is that running health awareness campaign to encourage regular exercise and healthy diets.

Besides, parents are held accountable for the obesity and deteriorating health in their kids. On the one hand, most parents are anxious about whether a child could be malnourished when they grow up. Hence, they are willing to get their children what they want, which leads to forming unhealthy eating habits. This can be exemplified by eating junk foods or choosing healthy eating patterns that contain more sugar and fat. On the other hand, nowadays, many youngsters tend to fall into a sedentary life, instead of going out and taking up sports. And parents are the only ones who could force or eradicate their children do what affect adversely their health.

To conclude, I would argue that the government should have the duty of combating obesity in children, I personally agree that parents also should join hand in curbing the obesity epidemic.